The Tax Collector is only responsible for the billing and collection of all property taxes. Information and questions regarding your tax assessment can be obtained from the Tax Assessor’s Office.
Anne M. Blake, CTC
16 Lanning Boulevard
East Windsor, NJ 08520
(609) 443-4000 ext. 230
Online Credit Card Payment
Tax payments can be made online using your credit card. A convenience fee (Effective October, 1 2016, 2.65% of the transaction total) will be assessed. Go to:
2016 Tax Rate: Per $100 Assessed Valuation
The total tax rate for the residents of East Windsor Township in 2016 is $3.285 per $100 of assessed valuation [$3.161 without the Garbage District], as illustrated on the pie chart below.
At $0.433, the Municipal Government is only 13.18% of the total property tax bill .
The Township Council does not establish and has no control over the other 83.05% of your tax bill . These taxes are collected for Mercer County and the East Windsor Regional School District. The three taxes collected for Mercer County are the County Tax ($0.581) which is 17.69% of the total tax rate, County Library Tax ($0.056) which is 1.70% of the total tax rate, and County Open Space Tax ($0.025) which is .77% of the total tax rate. The School District Tax ($2.066) constitutes 62.89% of the total tax rate.
Tax Collector Links
- News and Notices
- Tax Bills
- Tax Forms
- Property Tax Deductions
- Tax Sales
- Rebates (New Jersey Senior Freeze and New Jersey Homestead Benefit)
- Frequently Asked Questions
The Division of Taxation has begun mailing applications for the 2016 Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze) to senior citizens and disabled residents who may be eligible for the program. The deadline for filing the applications is June 1, 2017.
The Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze) Program, now in its 19th year, reimburses qualified applicants for the property tax increases they incur each year. Applicants must continue to meet all the income eligibility and residency requirements and must file an application each year to receive the reimbursement.
Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement):
• To ask questions: 1-800-882-6597 (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Mon-Fri, except State holidays)
• To check the status of a filed application: 1-800-882-6597
• To listen to information or to order an application: 1-800-882-6597
• In-person assistance at Taxation Regional Information Centers (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Mon-Fri, except State holidays): www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml
• Online Information: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ptr/index.shtml
Make checks payable to: East Windsor Tax Collector. Tax bills are mailed once a year during the summer. The bill you receive has third and fourth quarters of the current year, and first and second quarters of the following year. Due dates for each quarter are printed on the payment stubs of the bill: February 1, May 1, August 1 and November 1. There is no discount for prepayment. A ten (10) day grace period is offered on these payments.
- Receipts – The entire bill and a self-addressed stamped envelope must accompany remittances requiring receipt. Otherwise, it is acceptable to detach the appropriate stub to mail along with your check, and the canceled check will serve as your receipt.
- Interest – Interest of 8% per annum will be charged on amount up to $1500.00 and 18% per annum on amount over $1500.00. A penalty of up to 6% may be charged on any delinquency in excess of $10,000.00 if not paid by the end of the fiscal year.
- New Property Owners – It is to the property purchaser’s advantage to contact our office when you purchase a property.
- Request for Change on Tax Records (MS Word Document)
- Request for Address Change (MS Word Document)
- New Owner Tax Authorization Form (MS Word Document)
- Senior Citizen Deduction
- Disabled Individual Deduction
- Veteran Deduction
- Tax Sale Bidders Packet (PDF)
Deductions for senior citizens, deductions for disabled persons and Veteran deductions are handled by the Tax Assessor.
To qualify for any of the $250 deductions, a taxpayer must, as of October 1 of the pre-tax year:
- Be legal owner of, or have a fractional interest (i.e. life rights) in, the property on which the deduction is claimed
- Be a citizen and resident of New Jersey (the word resident is intended to mean that the applicant must have resided in the State of New Jersey for the 12-month period immediately preceding October 1 of the pre-tax year.
- Reside at the property for which the application for deduction is being made
- Receive (or reasonably anticipated receiving) an annual income (joint income with spouse) of $10,000 or less, and must be 65 years of age on or before December 31 of the pre-tax year.
In addition to the general qualifications above, applicants for a disabled person deduction must be permanently and totally disabled (Disabled means an inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity) as of December 31 of the pre-tax year.
In addition to the general qualifications above, applicants for a Surviving Spouse of a Senior Citizen or Disabled Person must:
- Not have remarried
- Have been at least 55 years of age at the time of the death of the deceased spouse
- Have reached age 55 by December 31 of the pre-tax year
- Be the surviving spouse of a person who was actually receiving either a Senior Citizen deduction or a Disabled Person deduction at the time of his/her death
To qualify for the Veteran's deduction, the claimant must, as of October 1 of the pre-tax year:
- Be legal owner of, or have a fractional interest in the property on which the deduction is claimed (a tenant shareholder in a cooperative or mutual housing corporation is considered to be the owner of his proportionate share of the real property of the entity holding title)
- Have an honorable discharge or release under honorable circumstances from active service in time of war in some branches of the US Armed Forces, and be a citizen and legal resident of New Jersey
For the Surviving Spouse of a Veteran or Service Person:
- Be legal owner of, or have a fractional interest in the property on which the deduction is claimed (same language as above)
- Not have remarried
- Be a legal resident of New Jersey
- Be the surviving spouse of a veteran who was honorably discharged or released under honorable circumstances from active service in the time of war in a branch of the Armed Forces of the US. Or, be the surviving spouse of a citizen and resident who met death while on active duty in a branch of the Armed Forces of the US having had active service in time of war in a branch of the Armed Forces of the US, and prove that the deceased was a domiciled citizen and resident of New Jersey at the time of his/her death
Each year, there is a Tax Sale for unpaid taxes and other municipal charges from the previous year. The tax Sale may take place any time after April 1 for the prior calendar year taxes owed. A list is published in the newspaper for four weeks preceding the sale, and the cost of advertising is added to the delinquent amount owed. The amounts due, however, may be paid up to the date of the sale. If the delinquent accounts are not paid up in full, and the property goes into the sale, a lien is placed against the property. If the lien is picked up by the Township, foreclosure proceedings will begin six months from the date of the sale. If an outside buyer picks up the lien, he must hold it for two years from the date of sale before starting foreclosure proceedings. All liens must be paid by cash, certified check, or money order.
The 2016 Tax Sale for unpaid 2015 delinquencies was held on December 2, 2016 at 10:00 a.m. in the municipal meeting room located at 16 Lanning Boulevard. The first advertisement was in The Trenton Times on November 4, 2016. The 2017 list will be posted at a later date.
There are two separate and distinct property tax relief programs available to New Jersey homeowners, by State of New Jersey. They are the New Jersey Homestead Rebate Program and the New Jersey Senior Property Tax Freeze Program.
New Jersey Homestead Rebate
The Division of Taxation will mail applications for the 2014 homeowner benefit over a three-week period beginning in mid-September 2016. If you previously filed online and indicated that you wanted to receive your application electronically, you will be sent an email containing instructions on how to download the application packet.
The New Jersey Homeowner Rebate automated telephone filing system (1-877-658-2972) will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week during the filing period, along with the application on the New Jersey Division of Taxation Web site: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
To file applications by phone: 1-877-658-2972
To file applications online: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
For information and to ask questions: 1-888-238-1233
TTY Equipment Users: 1-800-286-6613 or 609-984-7300
E-mail address for homestead rebate questions: firstname.lastname@example.org
E-mail address for general state tax questions: email@example.com
Agents are available during normal business hours from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday to answer questions or to assist homeowners in filing their applications.
The New Jersey Division of Taxation has begun mailing 2016 Senior Freeze (Property Tax Reimbursement) Checks to applicants who filed by June 1, 2017. Information is available online at www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ptr/index.shtml
This program is designed to freeze the burden of increasing real estate taxes for qualified applicants by establishing a base year of eligibility and comparing that “base” with any subsequent year, the difference to be refunded by the State annually. Eligibility must be continuous otherwise a new base year must be established.
Qualifications are as follows:
- Requires annual application to the state.
- Homeowners age 65 or older or receiving Federal Social Security Disability Benefits and who paid property taxes on their principal residence in New Jersey
- Applicants must be NJ residents for at least 10 years, and living in their current home for the last 3 years
- Applicant must meet certain income limits for the application year and the “base year” (year applicant first became eligible). Income requirements are set by the State annually, and property taxes must be paid in full within the year applied for.